Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Declined No better than cmd.exe (scrolling, long lines, resize, selection)

Feb
When I downloaded TCC/LE, I was hoping it would solve my issues with cmd.exe such as:

1. Reflowing long lines when shell is resized.
2. Allowing program output to continue when I select text (scrolling stops, but output continues).
3. Allowing program output to not force scrolled window back to bottom.
4. Allow wrapped line output to be easy to select.

So far TCC/LE is 0 out of 4.

I suspect (and hope), that as a newbie I don't know the tricks to solve one or more of my issues, so I look forward to updates/corrections to my complaints.

When I downloaded TCC/LE, I was hoping it would solve my issues with cmd.exe such as:

1. Reflowing long lines when shell is resized.
2. Allowing program output to continue when I select text (scrolling stops, but output continues).
3. Allowing program output to not force scrolled window back to bottom.
4. Allow wrapped line output to be easy to select.

So far TCC/LE is 0 out of 4.

I suspect (and hope), that as a newbie I don't know the tricks to solve one or more of my issues, so I look forward to updates/corrections to my complaints.

Rating a piece of software based upon your expectations of what you "think" it should do as compared to rating it based upon what it was "designed" to do gives your comment ZERO credence here.

Those are all criticisms -- perfectly valid criticisms -- of the Windows console environment. Any program that runs in the console is going to behave the same way.

The full version of Take Command overlays a GUI on top of the console, so selection at least behaves a little differently. But underneath, there is still a console window, with the same old limitations; scrolling and line wrapping are still the same.