Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

How to copy an old xp drive to a large ntfs drive

Jul
I am new to TCC and am using a 30 day evaluation of the latest version.
Formerly I had and used version 12 but it's been a long time.
I'm a Linux user and Windows is hard for me.

The old version 12 is on the drive I want to copy
and I don't know the syntax of a copy command that would copy the entire old xp drive to a subdirectory on my newly installed 1.5 tb ntfs drive.

I tried twice but was unable to create the proper command line.
I ended up with a partially filled directory that I could not figure how to delete.

I basically need to copy Program Files and Users which would give me all my personal data and programs which hopefully will run.

Larry

You should be able to copy all files from one location to another with something like this:

Code:
copy /a: /s /k c:\source\* d:\target\

However, don't assume that copying all the files under "Program Files" will give you working software on the target drive. Most software is more than just the files in its install directory; programs will also install .DLLs in the system directory, put information in the registry, configure themselves (and possibly tie themselves to) the specific hardware of the original computer, add environment variables.... The proper way to move software is to install it on the new computer from the original media, if at all possible.