Have TCMD/TCC support registered version of V

May 20, 2008
11,431
99
Syracuse, NY, USA
Does it not work now? I wonder ... what if the V.EXE in TCMD's home directory were a link to a registered version?
 
Good one @vefatica !

from the;
Code:
C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD28
...folder, I did;
Code:
mklink v.exe "c:\program files\v64\v.exe"
...and then closed Take Command down.

I restarted Take Command, and then from the Take Command menu, I did Tools -> View, which presented the file dialog.

I selected a file, and, once View opened, I checked Help, and it is now indeed using my registered version.

Next, I did an unalias for my v alias, and my view alias. (No more aliases for my registered version of V)

Note well, even though;
Code:
e:\utils>which /a view
view is an internal command
says that view is an internal command, it is still using my registered version of V.

Thanks!

Joe
 
Forgot to mention, I renamed the v.exe in the TCMD folder;
Code:
c:\program files\jpsoft\tcmd28>dir v.exe*

 Volume in drive C is unlabeled    Serial number is acb2:6a48
 Directory of  C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD28\v.exe*

2021-08-02  11:59     <SYMLINK>    v.exe [c:\program files\v64\v.exe]
2021-06-10  23:19       3,996,896  v.exe.jpsoft

That way, I am sure of using only my registered version.

Joe
 
Nov 2, 2008
231
2
I use a pointer file to load v through registry (using apppath and a fake name). When the apppath is loaded, it loads the correct version of v. Part of the installation is to reactivate v after a tcmd update.

The pointer file is a copy of write.exe, called v.exe, modified to load some name like zviewer.exe, A backup of v.exe is held.

The apppath for zviewer.exe points to where-ever v.exe is installed.

The v application can be kept off path, while a copy of v is kept in the tcmd directory, and in some pathed directory. You can then start v from either location, either under tcmd or via a cmd prompt.

The same issue exists with everything. The WSCC program looks after the Sysintern utilities, the Nirsoft utilities and a few others. While it is designed to be portable, you can redirect various shortcuts and links through these utilities. WSCC also looks after everything, so i simply run it from there.
 
After doing an update of TCMD, my registered version of v.exe was indeed clobbered, that is;
Code:
C:\Program Files\V64\v.exe
was deleted.

The v.exe SYMLINK that I have in C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD28 is still there, so the TCMD installer followed the SYMLINK, and deleted the;
Code:
C:\Program Files\V64\v.exe
...executable.

I do remember a dialog popping up during the TCMD upgrade, saying that the installer did not have sufficient rights to C:\Program Files\V64\v.exe

It would seem the installer had sufficient rights to delete C:\Program Files\V64\v.exe but did not have sufficient rights to replace C:\Program Files\V64\v.exe

After running the v16-x64.exe installer, everything is back to the way it was, and TCMD/TCC is using my registered version of v.exe again.

All is well.

Joe
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
mfarah Declined Implement an "Add TCC to the task bar" in the TCMD installer. Suggestions 2
rps TCC/TCMD instance expansion - TCC/TCMD info functions Suggestions 2
Joe Caverly Declined What Windows Version for what TCMD Version Suggestions 1
P Done Have option not to pause TCMD console output when mouse is clicked elsewhere Suggestions 0
mfarah A linter utility for TCMD.INI Suggestions 11
R Done Jump into TCMD On Error Suggestions 1
rps Declined Add auto-load directives to tcmd.ini Suggestions 3
Oz Solomon Done Recycle/Reuse window option for TCMD Suggestions 6
C Done Help suggestion TCMD Suggestions 3
dcantor Done Feature request -- migrate keyboard settings for TCMD Suggestions 0
M Declined Brief syntax for %@variable functions on TCMD status bar Suggestions 4
rconn Text folding and editing in TCMD's console view Suggestions 0
ehab aboudaya Done Global Hotkey to restore tcmd from tray Suggestions 2
Dmitry L. Kobyakov Done The list pane in the TCMD: some improvements Suggestions 0
T Done TCMD tabbed toolbar - auto-save changes Suggestions 0
w_krieger Declined 4nt / tcmd 8 icons Suggestions 3
H Done Start TCMD.EXE with an alternate INI file Suggestions 4
R Talk to Amazon about having TCC-RT available on AWS Suggestions 0
Joe Caverly Launch TCC Tab with different date/time Suggestions 0
R Option to add tcc to Bash profile Suggestions 1
L Done Suggestion for TCC 'ver' command Suggestions 8
R TCC instance-specific clipboard Suggestions 0
M Declined DST date difference explorer/TCC Suggestions 2
Joe Caverly Declined 32-bit out-of-process servers from 64-bit TCC via PSHELL Suggestions 0
A [TCC-RT] Console-less script runner Suggestions 3
Joe Caverly Add a "Snippet" Menu to CMDebug and TCC Debugger Suggestions 0
Joe Caverly Add example .BTM code to TCC Debugger and CMDebug Suggestions 1
thorntonpg Done Goto folder in file explorer from the current directory in the tcc prompt Suggestions 7
R Done System variable with TCC folder path Suggestions 8
M TCC Install Updates Taskbar Link Suggestions 1
R Done Switch between TCC and RT on same PC Suggestions 1
rps Done TCC count internal variable Suggestions 12
G Declined make tcc being more "4dos" and win x64 faster Suggestions 7
rconn Some ideas related to TCC instances (limit, enumerate etc) Suggestions 0
rconn Declined Allow TC/TCC direct access to WinSock and other networking Suggestions 0
rconn Done extend tcc file format Suggestions 0
Roedy Done TCC Window title Suggestions 0
newbie Done Remove TCC from Cntrl-Pnl Recommended list Suggestions 10
R Declined REQ: Fullscreen mode for tcc. Suggestions 12
E Done TCC User/Administrator level in title bar Suggestions 2
R Declined TCC on a stick & PortableApps Suggestions 0
nickles Declined FR: New icon for TCC Suggestions 1
M Done Add a update command to TCC Suggestions 2
samintz Done Support ~ and :path in COPY Suggestions 5
R Done Website home page doesn't mention MS Server 2019 support Suggestions 0
S Add support for Git auto-completion Suggestions 0
Charles Dye Done ASSOCIATE: Support other verbs Suggestions 1
D Done @expand should support directory aliases. Suggestions 0
joltcoder Done Support an "up" command to go to parent directory and "up3" to go up 3 directories, etc. Suggestions 4
M Declined Command line support for Virustotal Suggestions 0

Similar threads