Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

access denied problem under Vista

Jun
Hi. I was unable to copy a file into the take command default directory from my old one unless I ran take command as administrator which I might want to do sometimes, but not all the time! The new directory is the default installation directory and the old one was c:\tc32500. I am an administrator of the system, but for some reason this is not enough. Now, I use other programs which save under Program files without having to run as administrator, so what is going on here?

Thanks.

On Thu, 26 Jun 2008 04:12:56 -0500, you wrote:

>Hi. I was unable to copy a file into the take command default directory from my old one unless I ran take command as administrator which I might want to do sometimes, but not all the time! The new directory is the default installation directory and the old one was c:\tc32500. I am an administrator of the system, but for some reason this is not enough. Now, I use other programs which save under Program files without having to run as administrator, so what is going on here?
>
>Thanks.

The other programs you are using must also be running as
Administrator, as that is the only way to copy into the Program Files
directories under Vista unless you turn UAC off (as I have). Only
installers are allowed to write to Program Files (and a number of
other directories). Programs may seem to be writing to Program Files,
but in fact they may have been diverted to a special "VirtualStore"
folder instead. Take a look at:

\Users\<userid>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore

You may not be able to see that directory with normal software unless
you use "Run as Administrator".

This:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5538

has a quick explanation of what is going on (see the "Virtualization
Example" section).