Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

A particular program that I like to use no longer works in TCC/LE

Mar
Instead of using CD or TCC/LE's CDD, or PUSHD and POPD, I have been using CD Deluxe for a few years, and I like using it and have got very used to it.

I use it on Linux and I used to use it with TCC/LE, but a few updates ago it stopped working, and I have not managed to get it working again.

This is the bit of it (a script) which no longer works:

@echo off
set pushd_tmp=%TEMP%\pushd.tmp
set cdd_tmp_cmd=%TEMP%\cdd.tmp.cmd
pushd > %pushd_tmp%
%~dps0_cdd.exe %* < %pushd_tmp% > %cdd_tmp_cmd%
%cdd_tmp_cmd%

This script is supposed to be called cdd.cmd, but I renamed it to cddd.cmd, because TCC/LE already has a CDD command.

What has changed in TCC/LE which makes this script not work any more? I can see that PUSHD on its own no longer returns the current directory, where as it must have done so in the past.

I've tried making workarounds for that, but it still didn't work, so is there anything else which has changed?

JPsoft's PUSHD command in 4DOS, 4NT, TCC and TCCLE NEVER displayed anything but possibly an error message if trying to switch to an inaccessible directory. Likewise, the PUSHD command of CMD.EXE never displays anything, either. Are you sure that your batch file works in CMD, for which it was obiously written?

Weird. He's using PUSHD (via a temporary batch file) to change directories, but I don't see him ever doing a POPD. (And why does the author expect to read the current directory from stdin? It's simple for a program to get the current directory itself, without such contrivances....)