Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

2 Problems from a new user

Oct
Hello all,

I just started with TCC Version 9 about a month ago. I've not used a previous version of this software (unless you count the old 4DOS) so I'm still learning the new nomenclature.

Anyway, I'm working with batch scripts, not directly from the command line. I've been using CMD from Windows XP Pro SP2.

My existing batch program (a self-made, Checkbook-type program) appends transations to an existing text file. Fixed width fields are made by appending about 20 'spaces' (actual number of spaces is arbitrary) to the end of the variable and then extracting the first 20. This leaves the original vairable with the appropriate number of white space at the end. It's then written to a file and makes for a very nicely formatted line.

This does not apepar to work under TCC. It seems to strip any trailing white space from the variable. That's my first question, is there an option that I'm missing. Or is there a control char that I can insert that is invisible, but that 'set' would not strip out?

The next difficulty is harder to expain. I have this fragment from my script:

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,8) DO IF NOT !DS%%A!==*EMPTY* SET DS%%A=!DS%%A! &&SET DS%%A=!DS%%A:~0,20!

(all one line)

SET DS%%A=!DS%%A:~0,20! under CMD this variable expands and then gets trimmed correctly. This is another one of those variables that need padded in the first question. In this case though, under TCC, I cannot get it to expand/trim correctly. Left alone I get: !DS%%A:~0,20! as output. I tried adding the brackets, etc and played considerably eventually settling on this:

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,8) DO IF NOT %[DS%%A]==*EMPTY* ((SET DS%%A=%[DS%%A] _)&&((SET DS%%A=%@LEFT[20,%[DS%%A]]_))

(all one line)